Upselling Champ

I’m terrible at upselling. I hate upselling.

“Jasmine,” my supervisor would say as I clock in, “we need to sell more waffle cones.” Or it would be BBQ cheeseburgers or soft serves with a flake.

I actually love money, like almost in a worshiping way, which is terrible. But this means that I never want to push product on people so that they’d spend money they weren’t planning to spend.

However, we have boxes and boxes and boxes of popping candy that we never bothered to sell with our frozen cokes. Last week it was made a goal for those of us on counter to sell away all our blimming popping candy. When you sold one, you’d excitedly tell the rest of the crew on counter and everyone would celebrate!

Last week I sold five, as I proudly told Suki, my supervisor.

“I reckon I could sell another seven today!” I said, taking seven from the box and putting them next to my computer.

“Nah, nah,” she said, “I challenge you to sell ten!” and she picked up three more and gave them to me. I nodded at the challenge. I accept.

“What about you?” I said to Henry who was starting at the same time, “Can you sell ten?”
“Nope, I’m going to sell eleven!” he said, and he took as much.

Right then James, our Restaurant manager, walked in. “Alright, if you sell ten, you get a free ice cream. Sell twenty, you can get a sundae.”

Best motivation ever.

I managed to sell nine in the first hour, which made me puff up with pride. Henry only had three. But almost every single customer, whether or not they bought a frozen drink, I’d ask if they’d want one. “Would you like to have popping candy for a dollar?”

At the end of four hours, I’d managed to sell TWENTY TWO.

So here I am, eating a chocolate sundae. Smugly.

Leave a comment